Art and Time

That’s a pretty solemn title for this little note. I keep seeing an ad for the Apple Watch which opens in an art gallery or museum. The space looks like the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), or one of the less inspired areas in MoMA, anyway. White on white, etc. What caught my eye was the art on the walls, perhaps large-scale photographs, perhaps paintings. At first I thought they might be from the Smoke series by Pae White, but a quick search nixed that. On closer inspection, these works might depict a liquid caught in strobe photos rather than smoke. I keep asking myself, “Where is this?” and “Whose art is this?” and “How much does a museum charge for appearing in a commercial?”

A screen grab from the commercial is below.

Screen Shot 2015-05-28 at 11.18.38 AM

I have inquired of Apple, and will update you if I get any response.

Leave a Reply

